San Mateo County

Latest COVID-19 County Update

On March 24, 2020, the San Mateo County Board of Supervisors adopted Emergency Regulation 2020-001, which places a temporary Countywide moratorium on evictions from residential units for:

(1) non-payment of rent by tenants directly impacted by the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic; and

(2) certain no-fault causes unless the eviction is necessary for the health and safety of the tenant, other residents in the tenant's building, the landlord, or the landlord's family. See the pdf below for the regulation in its entirety.

While the Emergency Regulation remains in effect, if a tenant does not make a rent payment when it is due, and the landlord wishes to move forward with an eviction for that failure to timely pay rent, the landlord must first send the tenant a copy of this "Notice Re: San Mateo County Emergency Regulation 2020-001" and follow the instructions described therein (the Notice can also be found below in English, Spanish, Chinese, Portuguese, Russian and Tagalog).

On May 26th, the San Mateo County Board of Supervisors voted to extend the moratorium on evictions for 30 days. The sunset date is now June 30, 2020. The ordinance remained the same as originally passed, except with the new end date.

 San Mateo County Eviction Moratorium


 Sunset Date: June 30, 2020 

Cities in San Mateo County

Atherton  •  Belmont  •  Brisbane  •  Burlingame  •  Colma  •  Daly City  •  East Palo Alto  •  Foster City  •  Half Moon Bay  •  Hillsborough  •  Menlo Park  •  Millbrae  •  Pacifica  •  Portola Valley  •  Redwood City  •  San Bruno  •  San Carlos  •  San Mateo  •  South San Francisco  •  Woodside

Read the Latest Statewide Ordinance


(650) 327-2900
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram